Welcome new members!
By deebles
Hello everyone,

Back in 1990 my stepdad made a deal with me:
He wanted to buy a new Sprint and if I offered my 1980 Fiesta Sport as a trade-in, the Sprint would be mine in 3 years.
At the time I was a student at the University of Victoria and getting along just fine without a car, so I agreed.

My time with the Sprint came to an end in 1997 courtesy of a Camry suddenly and unexpectedly crossing my path by proceeding through a two way stop. A week later I was driving a 1989 Swift GTi and silently thanking the Camry’s driver for my good fortune.

Around the turn of the millennium I joined TeamSwift; in 2003 expecting our first child I decided to replace the Swift with something a bit more family friendly, but hung on to the Swift until that car, a 2000 Esteem wagon, arrived. Before that, I got a call from a nearby Swift GT owner saying that his car was available due to his terminal brain cancer. I first noticed this car a couple of years earlier and left my phone number with the owner who as a senior citizen and vintage truck collector bought it new as a daily driver but garage kept alongside his wife’s black one! I was interested in it due to its pristine condition and would have been glad to replace my GTi with it, but the circumstances had changed with a child due to arrive. In the end I could not resist the GT. Being in such great shape it brought me back to when these cars were new, which was comforting to me. I pledged that I would do my best to preserve this car for as long as possible.

For a number of months, a GT and a GTi were in my garage side by side, a white one and a black one, before selling the black one and getting the Esteem.